DLH Education Scholarship 2014-2015 Awardees

This scholarship was established by CFSA and sponsored by M & M Group Benefits to recognize outstanding full-time students of CFSA members in good standing who value education and will be enrolled or are currently enrolled in a higher learning institute, college/university or trade school. This year’s recipients are:

  • Jordan Salerno
  • Nicholas Tedeschi

Jordan Marie Salerno is a member of the Bethel High School graduating class of 2015. During her high school career, she took several honors and AP classes. As the co-president of the Bethel High School National Art Honor Society she dedicated herself to sharing her joy of art with others, working collaboratively to make a difference through their participation in charity events. Jordan found joy as she focused her attention on participating in both the cadet teacher program and adaptive physical education classes. It was through the cadet teaching program that Jordan identified her future college aspiration, becoming a social worker and art therapist. Jordan will start her journey at Marist College during the fall of 2015. She will live at home with her parents and her four dogs. Jordan is committed to making a difference in the lives of children and more specifically, special populations.

Nicholas Tedeschi will be attending the University of Connecticut in the fall where he will work towards his goal of getting a master’s degree in music education, and hopes to continue as the third generation in his family to become a public school educator. Nicholas attends Griswold High School, where he serves as the bass section leader of the chamber choir and the Testosterones’; a men’s a Capella group. He is the drum major of the pep band and marching band, and he is the trumpet section leader in the wind ensemble. This spring, he was also a lead in the school musical, Footloose, where he played Willard Hewitt. Nick would like to thank those involved in the Connecticut Federation of School Administrators, and M & M Group Benefits for choosing him as this year’s winner of the Dawn Lafferty Hochsprung Education Scholarship.

Both of these recipients attended our 39th Annual Constitution Meeting and Dinner and were presented the awards by Dr. Anthony Salvatore and the scholarship sponsor Mr. Theodore Salvatore, M & M Group Benefits, Inc.







Written by